Sunday, 22 September 2013

Manic Street Preachers

Manic Street Preachers were formed in Blackwood, Wales in the middle 80's. Consisting of James Dean Bradfield, Nickey Wire and Sean Moore they create Alternative Rock songs based on social critique lyrics. Although they lost their brilliant guitarist, Richey Edwards, who suddenly disappeared in 1995, they continue to be one of the most important English Rock bands in the last two and a half decades. Their new album, Rewind The Film, is pretty quiet comparing to earlier releases, but you can still find there some great songs and wonderful collaboration with Cate Le Bon, Richard Hawley and Lucy Rose. If you rewind the film 15 years and about a week back, we can meet the date they released This Is My Truth, Tell Me yours, their most successful album to date. 15 years after it seems that Manic Street Preachers have changed the way they play but not the issues they sing about. So I've chosen 2 songs from the new album and three that good to remember....

Motorcycle Emptiness (Generation Terrorists, 1992)
Rewind The Film (Rewind The Film, 2013)

Be Natural (This Is My Truth, Tell Me Yours, 1998)

4 Lonely Roads (Rewind The Film, 2013)
So Why So Sad (Know Your Enemy, 2001)

No comments:

Post a Comment